Up and Over … Again

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe whole herd was happy to see us arrive out in the paddock this morning. We had more snow last night … and I decided to treat them before we had breakfast. So on my traipse around the house to deliver the sunflower seeds to the birds I also opened the hay barn.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAAll four can cozily fit into any of the four barns – two of which, including this one – are hay barns. I think of it as ‘eating in’. 😉 Once we’ve finished up scooping and refilling hay nets I scoot the donkeys out …
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA… and we all head for the front paddock. Seems the prospect of free eating in an open barn is more enticing than grazing hay bags with fresh hay.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAMost days I can get ahead of the group before they make it down …
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA… but this morning they were eager to get back ‘inside’ to eat again.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWhile I was working away in the paddocks Ede was reacquainting herself with the chickadees. At one point she had them on her head, her arms and in the palm of her hand. They’re some glad to see her arrive each morning!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAMeanwhile, the snow started to really come down. So I turned the feed bins over (empty at this point) and enticed the herd to come ‘back over the hillside’ to hang out in the back paddock barns.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThey’re really great about following when we call them.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAToday though … I swear I could hear Paco sigh as he climbed the hill again. Made me feel like I was one of those fitness instructors that cheerfully counts down to zero and then tricks you by calling out ‘three more’ just when you thought you were done.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWhen we started to get lunch ready about an hour later … I went out and filled up those lower paddock hay bags. I looked out from the kitchen window and there they were … miserably standing in the falling snow … staring at the upside down feed bins! Yes – they DO have me wrapped snugly around their sixteen hooves!

This entry was posted in Animal Friends, Donkeys, Weather, Winter and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

