Don’t poke the lion!

Blowing Snow009As I shuffled down the stairs to the kitchen this morning I had to rub my eyes a few times to believe what I was seeing. Once again … our predicted 5 cm snowfall turned into 25 cm with blowing winds. Aiyee – yie – yie!!! Having spent many hours yesterday clearing away Saturday’s 25 cm snowfall I was a bit dismayed by the prospect of this morning’s chores.
Blowing Snow011Animals are a great motivator – whether they be big or small. Before breakfast each morning I put out seeds for the Chickadees, Nuthatches, Finches, Jays, Morning Doves and Woodpeckers …
Blowing Snow012Ede advised I take the broom with me – good idea! I wish I had thought to sweep ahead of me on the way across the front yard. The snow was well over my boots and knees. Brrr! I’m going to have to start wearing my paddock snowpants just to feed the birds. What a winter!
Blowing Snow013I layered plenty of black oil sunflower seeds and peanuts for this morning’s buffet.
Blowing Snow014And sure enough – the Jays swooped on in while I was still filling the hanging feeder.
Blowing Snow018We’d already watched this fella motoring through the snow like a submarine on a mission. So I shovelled out under the feeders to allow he and his ground feeding friends a chance at the fallen seeds.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe backyard and the paddock were a daunting sight!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe donks had already been down to the front field but found their ‘bonus bale’ was under too much snow. So they followed me back to the paddock and hunkered down in the Condo to wait out my Bully runs.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI’m getting to be quite good at manoeuvring around the fences and gates.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWhat I can’t get at with the Bully I whack at with my shovel! The tricky part is becoming just where to put all the snow!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOur paddock is in the ideal location. We have small hillsides both to the west and the east and the house to the south. The barns are situated to provide shelter from the north. Today the northwest winds were whistling across the back field turning that view into a whiteout.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAMeanwhile the sunshine made the Condo a cozy place to supervise my snow removal efforts. Notice the ‘classy’ addition to the Condo door. We’ve cut the opening in half by adding this board / wind blocker. (I’m thinking that it will also make it shadier in there during the weltering hot summer days and keep the biting flies at bay … nice to think about those days … isn’t it!)
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAEventually – after about three hours of plowing and shovelling – the paddock once again looks clean and cozy for the donks to gambol and play …
Blowing Snow2001When I got back into the kitchen … I discovered that they’d all plowed through the woods again to go down to the ‘free for all bale’ to eat instead. Now that shovelling will have to wait until this afternoon! Phew!

This entry was posted in Animal Friends, Donkeys, Weather and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Don’t poke the lion!

  1. avian101 says:

    I’m so glad that I moved from New Jersey to Georgia, I had it with the snow! That’s a lot of work! 🙂 Thanks for being so nice to the birds!

    • meadowmice says:

      How has the winter been in Georgia this year? Seems like these cold wind systems are blowing all the way down to Florida! ‘Your welcome’ about the birds. 😉 They are part of the family up here too. They wait for me to show up in the morning. Our feeders are outside the kitchen window in a nice ‘lee’ of the house that lets them soak up the sunshine and swoop in for food without having to battle the winds. Our kitchen table sits up against a large window so we ‘eat breakfast together’!

      >________________________________

Leave a Reply

