Chilly With Wind Breaks

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAHere it comes – the January cold – even though January is not quite here yet. This morning we woke up to find the quartet already down in the lower field. They knew the sun was coming up sometime … It’s a great micro-climate down there – much warmer than the back paddock.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASo I bundled up and delivered carrots and hay out there. The hillside and the raised roadside make great wind breaks. By nine o’clock I could see the steam rising off of their wooly coats.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAWhile these three were busy eating … Rosie was giving the evil eye to my jacket which was hanging on a branch about twenty feet away. When she couldn’t figure out what it was she cocked her ears and starting strutting about – enough so that everyone circled Paco in the far corner of the field. (Not sure if that is because he would protect them – or that he has them trained to protect him … ) It is amazing to see how much attuned they are to each other’s body language and sounds. They sure knew Rosie thought there was a threat and were going to stick together until it was sorted out. It wasn’t until I put my coat back on that they relaxed.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI love my morning chores – bringing food, scooping up road apples … and the best job of all sitting and scratching all four sets of ears. Donkey fur is very warm. Even on the coldest of days I don’t need mitts if my hands are working on a donkey coat. I easily spend two hours outside every morning and then at least another at noon, another at four and again at eight at night.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI’m readjusting to retirement life. My casual stint with the school board is up. The good news is they are going to officially hire a Computer Tutor. The bad (or not so bad depending on how you look at it) news is that I am not eligible to apply for it. So this morning Rosie was giving me a full inventory of the places that she needs scratched at least three times a day.  I’m looking forward (once again) to settling in here at The Meadow for cozy home days. I think Ede will survive my ‘re-entry’. Although – she may fire me off to slake my need for change and new projects to start. 😉

Have a warm and cozy chilly day out there!

This entry was posted in Animal Friends, Donkeys, Weather. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

